Net Neutrality Letter May 13, 2014

The Honorable Tom Wheeler
Federal Communications Commission
Washington, DC 20554

May 13, 2014

Dear Chairman Wheeler:

The open Internet has powered the creative community’s pursuits and offerings in the 21st century. As members of this community, we urge the Federal Communications Commissionto protect the open Internet as a vehicle for free expression and collaboration.

The Internet is the communications medium of our era. Serving as a platform to anyone with an idea, the open Internet empowers freedom of speech and freedom of expression.But the FCC is now proposing rules that would kill — rather than protect — Net Neutrality and allow rampant discrimination online.

Under these rules, telecom giants like AT&T, Comcast and Verizon would be able to pick winners and losers online and discriminate against online content and applications.

The open Internet’s impact on the creative community cannot be overstated. The Internet has enabled artists to connect directly with each other and with audiences. It has eliminated the barriers of geography and taken collaborations to new levels. And it has allowed people— not corporations — to seek out the film, music and art that moves them.

Allowing broadband providers to control this once-open platform shifts power away from individual artists and creators and interferes with freedom of speech and expression. Unless the Commission restores strong nondiscrimination protections based on a solid legal framework, creativity, cultural commerce and free expression will suffer.

Your proposed path would open the door to widespread discrimination online. It would give Internet service providers the green light to implement pay-for-priority schemes that would be disastrous for startups, nonprofits and everyday Internet users who cannot afford these unnecessary tolls. We urge you to scrap these proposed rules and instead restore the principle of online nondiscrimination by reclassifying broadband as a telecommunications service.


Fred Armisen
Geoff Bailey
Jello Biafra
Sarah Browning (poet)
Neko Case
Staceyann Chin
Kimya Dawson: The Moldy Peaches, Antsy Pants, The Bundles, The Uncluded
Davey D
Michael Ealy
Fat Wreck Chords
Jonny 5: Flobots
Judah Friedlander
Merrill Garbus: Tune-Yards
Rebecca Gates
Hank Green
Harry and the Potters
Mark Kates: Artist Manager, Fenway Recordings
Allison Kilkenny & Jamie Kilstein: Citizen Radio
Hari Kondabolu
Wayne Kramer: MC5, Jail Guitar Doors USA
Kronos Quartet
The Last Internationale
Evangeline Lilly: actor
David Lowery: Cracker/Camper Van Beethoven
Jeff Mangum & Astra Taylor: Neutral Milk Hotel
Scott McCaughey: Young Fresh Fellows, Minus 5
Erin McKeown
Tom Morello
Thao Nguyen: Thao & the Get Down Stay Down
Alec Ounsworth: Clap Your Hands Say Yeah
Martín Perna: Antibalas
Joe Perry: Aerosmith
Billie Perry
Boots Riley
Rich Robinson: The Black Crowes
Benji Rogers: Founder of Pledge Music
Mark Ruffalo
James Schamus
Wallace Shawn
Jill Sobule
Charlie Starr: Blackberry Smoke
Michael Stipe: R.E.M.
Oliver Stone
Jimmy Tamborello: Postal Service, Dntel, Figurine
Jonathan B. Tucker (poet)
Corin Tucker: Sleater-Kinney
Nick Urata: DeVotchKa
Eddie Vedder: Pearl Jam
Roger Waters: Pink Floyd
Greg Wells
Alex Winter
Alicia Witt