Future of Music Policy Summit 2009

Music, Technology, Policy and Law Go Back to the Future

It’s been nearly a decade since the digital music genie burst out of its bottle, changing the game for virtually everyone in the music ecosystem. So what comes next? Future of Music Policy Summit 2009 examined this question through practical, musician-focused workshops, keynotes from leading artists, managers and policymakers and inspired panel discussions with the sharpest minds in the music/technology space. New this year, the event featured unique presentations from a range of visionaries about where we’ve been and where we go from here. All this plus cocktail parties, a movie screening and a rock show!

Policy Summit 2009 took place at Georgetown University in Washington, DC on October 4-6. It was also webcast live by web.illish.us.

Stellar Speakers

The Summit welcomed an incredible range of speakers to the stage, including US Senator Al Franken, FCC Chairman Julius Genachowski and Daniel Ek, founder of buzzed-about music service Spotify.

On the artist side, we were joined by Wayne Kramer of MC5, Mike Mills of R.E.M., Erin McKeown, Vijay Iyer and Nicole Atkins. That’s in addition to Brian Message of Radiohead’s management team, Merge Records co-owner Mac McCaughan, Ian MacKaye from Dischord/Fugazi and many, many more.

Panel Topics

To make sure you don’t miss any of the breaking details, please sign up for our events newsletter or our twitter feed.

Confirmed Panelists:

  • Bob Boilen Host and Creator, All Songs Considered, NPR
  • Bertis Downs Advisor, R.E.M.
  • Jed Carlson Co-founder/COO, ReverbNation
  • David Carson General Counsel, U.S. Copyright Office
  • Representative Mike Doyle D-Pennsylvania
  • Daniel Ek Founder and CEO, Spotify 
  • Senator Al Franken D-Minnesota
  • FCC Chairman Julius Genachowski
  • Anya Grundmann Executive Producer, NPR Music
  • Jim Griffin Founder, Choruss 
  • Vijay Iyer Musician
  • Peter Jenner Sincere Management; President Emeritus, IMMF
  • Maura Johnston Editor, Idolator
  • Roberta R. Katz Special Advisor, Technology, U.S. Department of Justice, Antitrust Division
  • Greg Kot Music Critic, Chicago Tribune 
  • Wayne Kramer Musician, MC5 
  • Steve Marks Executive VP and General Counsel, RIAA
  • Mac McCaughan Co-founder, Merge Records; Musician, Portastatic, Superchunk
  • Erin McKeown Musician
  • Brian Message Partner, Courtyard Management (Radiohead, Supergrass, 22-20’s)
  • Mike Mills Musician, r.e.m.
  • Sandy Pearlman Visiting Professor, McGill University; Producer, Blue Oyster Cult, The Clash
  • Martin Perna Musician, Antibalas/Ocote Soul Sounds
  • Scott Plagenhoef Editor-in-Chief, Pitchfork
  • Tim Quirk Vice President of Programming, Rhapsody 
  • Mike Relm Musician
  • Jim Selby CEO, Naxos of America 
  • Johanna Shelton Senior Policy Counsel & Legislative Strategist, Google Inc.
  • Hank Shocklee President, Shocklee Entertainment
  • Yancey Strickler Co-founder, Kickstarter
  • Eliot van Buskirk Columnist, WIRED


Click here for a complete panelist list

Georgetown University
37th and O Streets NW Gaston Hall
Washington, DC
United States

Post-Event Details

Attendees: Fill out an event evaluation


Registration Pricing
CLE information
Musician Scholarships
Press Credentialing
Student Pricing
Live Webcast


Panelist Bios
Event Archives/Schedule


Getting There
Outreach Tools
Campus Map

Sponsor the Policy Summit
Contact Us

Can’t Miss Video

Hank Shocklee Discusses Music Labels and the Internet


Got Content?

Photos/video #FMC09
Twitter #FMC09